All about National Recruitment Agency (NRA)

Govt Approves Common Eligibility Test (CET) for IBPS, SSC and Indian Railways Recruitments 2020

In a ground breaking decision, the Indian Government today approved a proposal to setting up of National Recruitment Agency (NRA). From now onwards, this NRA will conduct a Common Eligibility Test (CET) for selection to non-gazetted posts in the central government and public sector banks (RRB, SSC & IBPS).
The NRA will prove to be a boon for crores of youngsters,” PM Modi said in a tweet”. There will be single entrance examination for all non-gazetted posts — Group B and C posts. 

What is this Common Eligibility Test (CET) conducted by NRA ?

The National Recruitment Agency will conduct a common eligibility test for Staff Selection Commission (SSC), the Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) and the Institute of Banking Service Personnel (IBPS). Instead of appearing for different exams, the candidates should appear for the CET exam conducted by NRA. Candidates who qualify this CET can apply to any recruitment agencies for higher level of examination.

3 year validity 

The Merit list of Common Entrance Test (CET) will remain valid for three years during which the candidate can apply for jobs in different sectors depending upon his aptitude and preferences. They can improve score by appearing again and best score will be considered.

You can write your exam in your mother tongue 

As of now, now only two languages ​​(English & Hindi) were allowed to take exams, but through the CET being conducted by NRA, the aspirants appear for the common eligibility test in 12 languages.
“Through the CET, it will eliminate multiple tests and save precious time as well as resources. This will also be a big boost to transparency,” Narendra Modi announced. . “There are almost more than 20 recruitment agencies in central govt. Although we are making exams of only three agencies common as of now, in course of time we will be able to have CET for all recruitment agencies, C Chandramouli, secretary to the government said.

Addressing a press conference, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar asserted that the step will benefit the job-seeking youth of the country.  “It’s one of the most landmark reforms in the history of independent India. It’ll bring in ease of recruitment, selection, job placement and ease of living particularly for certain sections of society which are at a disadvantage on one account or the other,” said Union Minister Jitendra Singh.

As of now, the National Recruitment Agency will take the examination for only three institutions, but in future, all the central institutions will take the examination. About 2.5 crore students will take part in these three institutions.

Common Eligibility Test by NRA : Important Points you should Know (Quick Glance)

  • A multi-agency body called the National Recruitment Agency (NRA) will conduct a Common Eligibility Test (CET) to screen/shortlist candidates for the Group B and C (non-technical) posts.
  • NRA will have representatives of Ministry of Railways, Ministry of Finance/Department of Financial Services, the SSC, RRB & IBPS.
  • CET to be conducted for 3 levels : Graduate, Higher Secondary (12th), 10th Pass for those non-technical posts to which recruitment is presently carried out by SSC, RRBs & IBPS.
  • Examination Centres in every District of the country.
  • Based on CET score, final selection to be made through specialised Tier 2/Tier 3 exams conducted by respective recruitment agency.
  • To be conducted in Multiple Indian Languages.
  • Score valid for 3 years, no bar on attempts.

Recently Central Government has invited a Logo Contest for National Recruitment Agency at mygov portal.

The Last Date to participate in contest : Oct 31,202023:45 PM IST (GMT +5.30 Hrs)

Leave a Comment